After a year’s sabbatical, NLD is delighted to announce that the Seniors programme is to be relaunched with the selected Squad taking part in the Bill Beaumont Senior Men’s County Championship this season.

With a view to re-establishing the Seniors as the flagship representative side within NLD, a new team has been appointed to oversee the programme in preparation for the forthcoming matches.

Nathan Eggleshaw (Paviors RFC), together with Roxy Fearon (Derby RFC) and Nathan Smith (Kesteven RFC & RFU) will take the reins and will be responsible for the training, selection and management of the NLD Senior Squad who will compete in the Group Stage with matches against Oxfordshire, Cumbria and North Midlands.

The new team expressed how excited they were to be involved in the prestigious Senior programme.

Nathan Eggleshaw commented that “Playing for the seniors and pulling on that NLD shirt was always a great experience and a privilege and we want to share that passion with the players and provide them with an opportunity to represent at this elevated level.”

Roxy Fearon added that, “Representing the Three Counties is a terrific honour but we also want it be an experience the players can enjoy towards the end of the season.”

Nathan Smith added that, “NLD has a proud history in the Seniors competition and we want this year’s Squad to go away with a sense of satisfaction and achievement at the end of the campaign.”

Invitations will be going out from the Team in the coming days and training dates will be announced at the same time.

The fixtures will take place on:

Saturday 04 May
Oxfordshire v NLD

Saturday 11 May
NLD v Cumbria

Saturday 18 May
North Mids v NLD

Venues for the games will be announced shortly as we build towards recreating the flagship programme within NLD and generating an environment within which the CB’s best players can be challenged and rewarded in amateur rugby’s premier competition.

Lee Slack – Head of Representative Rugby