NLD U20 Squad Named for National Final

The NLD U20 squad to line up against Lancashire in the Jason Leonard RFU U20 County Championship Final has been announced.

After a nail biting last grasp victory against Devon in the Semi Final the squad will make the considerably shorter journey to Moseley RFC on Sunday 6th May 2018 to face their northern rivals, kick off 2pm.

NLD U20 Head Coach Nic Corrigan commented ‘This campaign has been enjoyable and we set out to create a learning opportunity for the players who have taken part. I am indebted to Graeme, John, Matt, Tim & Steph for their work on the program this season. It hasn’t been straight forward managing many areas outside of the sessions but nevertheless to be on the eve of national final is a highlight in all of our rugby journey’s irrespective of route. The focus has been these players developing and learning to challenge themselves. They have appointed their own leadership group and are at the point where they run the game plan and are mentoring each other in smaller groups to add it together as a unit which they have forged.

I am a proud Cestrian (someone from Cheshire) to play against such a distinguished county as Lancashire in this competition is a challenge not many get the chance to take them on. Lancashire are a fantastic CB with names in the coaching game such as Mark Nelson, Brian Ashton MBE, Paul Arnold and Warren Spragg to name a few over the years who have dominated both the senior competition and U20s competition. I wish them and the NLD team the very best for the day but approach this from a point of view that players involved have an opportunity to demonstrate the value of knock out rugby in a highly structured and busy season.’

Number Name Club/University
1 Henry Trimmer Nottingham Trent University
2 Jack Weedon Long Eaton RFC
3 Kane Linklater Scunthorpe  RFC
4 Charlie Barker Derby RFC
5 Toby Hutchinson Nottingham Academy
6 Natty Brisco West Bridgford RFC
7 Luke Brown West Bridgford RFC
8 Jacob Wright Long Eaton RFC
9 Jamie Murray Nottingham Trent University
10 Harrison Wells Nottingham Trent University
11 Josh Arimoro Nottingham University
12 Josh Bloomfield Nottingham Trent University
13 James Peachey Nottingham Trent University
14 Aaron Walker Long Eaton RFC
15 Dan Glasse Nottingham Academy
16 Ben Jesson Nottingham University
17 Tommie Collingwood Nottingham Trent University
18 Dec Neary Long Eaton RFC
19 Joe Mcmenimin Long Eaton RFC
20 Will Harding Terry Newark RFC
21 Oscar Malik West Bridgford RFC
22 Adam Castle Long Eaton RFC