NLD Announce 2016-17 Award Winners!

NLD are delighted to announce the Winners of the 2016-17 NLD Awards which are in their third successive year of running.

The awards are aimed at recognising clubs & volunteers across the CB in 4 key categories of the game.  There were once again a number of excellent nominations and some very difficult decision had to be made along the way.

NLD Honorary Secretary Tracy Edmundson commented; ‘Huge congratulations to all of the Award Winners and Nominations, it is fantastic to see examples of the excellent work going on within the Three Counties – keep it up!’

The Award Winners have been invited to the NLD AGM to receive their awards on Monday 26th June 2017.

NLD RFU ‘Volunteer of the Year’
This award is for a hard working volunteer who goes above and beyond in their rugby related role.

Winner:  Matt Derbyshire, Melbourne RFC Senior XV Head Coach for his outstanding work not only within the Senior set up at the club but also with the work he has done with the Colts Academy to aid the transition into Senior Rugby.

NLD RFU ‘Outstanding Achievement of the Year’
Open to clubs, teams or individuals who may have achieved something against all odds, seen significant improvement or accomplished something that deserves recognition.

Winner:  Tupton RFC who over the past couple of seasons have transformed their club, significantly increasing & sustaining membership now with a thriving Junior section and a highly successful summer rugby programme.

NLD RFU ’16-24 Player Retention’
This award is to recognise Clubs who are innovative in engaging the 16-24 age group and aiding the transition into the Senior game.

Winner:  Ashbourne RFC Colts for their excellent work in offering a strong Colts section at the club at both U17 & U19 age groups and bridging the transition through to the Senior section of the club.

NLD RFU ‘Spirit of the Game’
The core values of the game are so important and this award is to recognise a Club / Team that may promote these values, have an excellent disciplinary record or be extremely hospitable hosts.

Winner:  Mansfield RFC U11 Squad who embody the RFU Core Values and have impressed many a visiting team this season with their friendly welcome.