NLD Announce Squad To Open County Championship Campaign

Tomorrow afternoon (Saturday 30th) sees the NLD Senior XV take on Staffordshire at Leek RFC (3pm KO) in the first RFU County Championship match of the season.

The squad sees some familiar faces return to the line up as well as number of new players making the step up to this level for the first time.

NLD Head of Representative Rugby Lee Slack commented; ‘It is great to see some younger players coming through to the squad this year, including a number who have come through the NLD age group squads and most recently have played for the U20’s.  As always a huge thank you to the clubs for their support and to the NLD Senior XV Coaching Team, we look forward to a fantastic game of rugby’.

All supporters are more than welcome to travel to Leek to cheer on the squad and enjoy the live band and BBQ on offer by Leek RFC.  There is an entry fee of £3 per person to the ground.

  1. Charles Cone – Sheffield Tigers
  2. Jed Chapple – Newark
  3. Ollie Cole – Market Rasen and Louth
  4. Lee Ortan – Sheffield Tigers
  5. Jake Smithurst – Ilkeston
  6. Ben Chamberlin – Market Rasen and Louth
  7. Lee Monks – Sheffield Tigers
  8. Chris Tipton – Ilkeston
  9. Joe Marsden – Ilkeston
  10. Jake Lamb (captain) – Ilkeston
  11. Chris Starns – Notts Trent uni
  12. Alex Ayers – Ilkeston
  13. Steve Douglas – Notts Trent uni
  14. Olly Rathbone – Notts Trent uni
  15. Alex Taylorson – Notts Trent uni
  1. Freddie Morris- Notts Trent uni
  2. Alex Ioannou – Sleaford
  3. Sam Humphries – Ilkeston
  4. Sean Denning – west bridgeford
  5. Louis Gaddie – Notts Trent uni
  6. Lewis Winterbottom – glossop
  7. Josh Dixey – Matlock